The original School Room was built on this site in 1810, which was joined in 1844 by the Schoolmaster’s House, the lovely flint cottage running across the front of the current Hall. In 1908 the use as a school ceased with the opening of the ‘new’ school in North Road which continues to flourish today.
The Hall was extended in 1972 and renamed The War Memorial Hall. The Hall underwent substantial alteration and refurbishment in the late 1990s with further improvements since and maintenance to a high standard. It provides a wonderful venue for all occasions.
Alfriston is a village community situated within the boundary of the recently created South Downs National Park. We sit near the eastern end of the South Downs Way which runs from Winchester in Hampshire to Eastbourne in East Sussex. Here at the very centre of our historic village, the path splits into three, with alternative routes heading east, west and south.
Around the village, visitors can enjoy the famous St Andrew’s Church (known as the “Cathedral of the Downs”) and the Clergy House (the National Trust’s first-ever property) alongside a wide range of pubs, cafés, galleries and shops.
Alfriston hosts a variety events throughout the calendar year including music festivals and concerts, traditional fetes and boot fares. Keep an eye on our village website's What’s On page or the Village Diary by clicking here.
A trip to Alfriston provides a relaxing break while exploring the historical heritage of the village and the natural beauty of the surrounding countryside. Stroll north or south along the Cuckmere river or hike east or west onto the Downs to soak up the peace and tranquillity of the area.